
DISCARDING by Maritha 
What do you keep when you have to discard on Declarer’s long suits? The general principles are: 

1) Guard your honors—and guard in order of precedence (Kings more vital than Queens, etc.) 
2) Remember that guarding means having enough small guards to guarantee that your honors will NOT fall 

under a higher honor. A King needs at least one small card with it to be guarded. A queen needs at least two 
small cards with it to be guarded. A Jack needs three small cards with it to be guarded. 

3) Keep equal length with dummy if you are behind dummy (playing after dummy) if your highest card is 
higher than Dummy’s lowest card. Given a choice, guard suit on your right, rather than suit on your left. 

4) If you have 4 or more cards in a suit, it is probably YOUR responsibility to guard it. (Partner can’t help.) 
5) If Declarer has bid a suit, showing a certain number of cards, you know that you should probably keep 

your cards in that suit (unless or until you see Declarer throw cards in that suit away). 
6) If Declarer has denied a certain suit, you can safely discard from that suit. 
7) If dummy has a short side suit and Declarer ruffs one or two cards in that suit, and then pulls trumps, 

assume that Declarer has no more cards in that suit. It is an excellent candidate for your discards. 
8) It is better to unguard one suit completely than to unguard two suits partially (unless partner has help). 
9) Discarding a (relatively) high spot card says you like that suit. Discarding a low card says you do not 

like that suit. Partner must check the spot cards to be sure whether your discard is high or low! 
10) When you discard an honor, you promise an honor sequence of three or more (and tell partner s/he can 

safely get rid of that suit). For example, discard Queen from QJ109. 
11) Negative discards (throwing low cards from suits in which you have NO interest) are usually best in no 

trump. If you discard a high card in a suit in which you DO have interest, it might be the setting trick. 
12) Be as clear as possible in your discards. The more obvious your signal, the more likely partner will notice. 
13) When discarding in a suit that partner has led, give current count. If you have three cards left, discard your 

lowest card. If you have two cards left, discard your highest card—the card you would have played back. 
14) Use the Rule of 11 to help your discards. Sometimes you have a lot of help in the suit partner leads against 

no trump and you know that you have knocked out Declarer’s last stopper—but partner does not know that. 
If you have a chance to discard a high card in partner’s suit, do it! That tells partner that s/he can just run the 
suit as soon as s/he gets the lead. Example: you hold QJ7 and dummy has 83 and partner leads the 6. When 
Declarer takes your Jack with the King, you know that Declarer has no more cards above the 6 in that suit, 
but partner does not know that. At first opportunity, discard your Queen in that suit! 

15) Try to always keep one card in your partner’s suit at no trump—if you have even the ghost of a chance 
of getting the lead at some point. 

16) If you are desperate to create an entry to partner’s hand, you may have to discard an Ace or a King (so 
partner’s presumed queen or jack can become an entry). 

17) Try to avoid discarding from one, two, or three small cards in a suit in which the opponents are known 
to have strength, or where there is a finesse combination (e.g., KJ10) in dummy. You may help Declarer 
place the cards! 

18) Be very careful about discarding a high spot card. It might be too valuable at times! In such a case, a 
negative discard (or two) might be better than a come-on signal. 

19) Don’t tell Declarer more than you must. If your partner shows out of a suit, Declarer knows your exact 
holding in that suit. If you can afford to, make most of your discards in that suit. Ditto when your bidding 
showed a long suit. You will keep your distribution in the other suits secret from Declarer for a longer time. 

20) Make a negative discard in a suit you do NOT want led when you cannot spare a high card in the suit 
you DO want led or when you suspect partner is likely to lead that suit and you want something else led. 

21) When you discard twice in the same suit, the first discard is attitude, the second discard is count 
(present count). 

22) After you lead a suit, your first discard in that suit is present count. 



23) After you play third in a suit, your first discard in that suit is present count. 
24) When you have nothing, try to discard one suit completely to help partner the most in counting.


