
PREEMPTS & RULE OF 2 and 3 
 

Original Rule of 2 and 3 was that you should be within 3 tricks of your bid if non vulnerable and 

within 2 tricks of your bid if vulnerable. 
 

When I mentioned that partner (of preempter) almost always has one trick for you, was not trying to 

make it an established principle in calculating 2 and 3 with hands, but was trying to help partner feel 

better about “breaking” rule of 2. 

 

Quality of Suit 
I believe it is worth bidding a weak 2, even vulnerable, when you have an excellent suit and nothing 

else—although this violates the Rule of 2. My reasoning is that you win three ways; partner gets off to 

the best lead on defense—a vital issue; the preempt has a chance to wreak havoc with opponents' 

communication; and we are bidding with the field which is usually desirable in matchpoints. Yes, 

partner may miscalculate your winners/losers for bidding game, but I believe that happens less often 

and is less significant than the first two. 

     I will bid a Weak Two—vulnerable--with any 6-2-3-2 pattern when all I have is AKQxxx; AKxxxx; 

AKJxxx; AQJxxx; KQ10xxx---6 tricks in some cases but only 5 tricks in others. 

 

Issue of Losing Trick Count versus Counting Playing Tricks 
A hand such as QJ10xxx  Kx  Kxx  xx  has only 7 losers by Losing Trick Count. In terms of counting 

winners (counting playing tricks), it has only 4 spades tricks, ½ heart and ½ diamond so 5 winners (and 

thus 8 losers). I think most people would still bid a Weak Two with this, even though it violates the 

Rule of 2 if you are vulnerable. I think most people are now using LTC rather than counting playing 

tricks in these cases. 

 

Ownership of the Spade Suit 
I will “stretch” to bid a Weak Two when I have the spade suit—the advantage of starting the bidding at 

2 spades is clear cut. 

 

Great Shortness in the Majors 
I will “stretch” to make a 3-level preempt when I have very little in the majors and I want to take up 

their room. I would bid 3C with x  xx  Jxxx  KQJ10xx even though I only have 5 winners. 

 

Caliber of the Opposition 
On marginal hands (to preempt or not to preempt?), I will be guarded by the quality of our opponents 

and whether or not they like to make low-level penalty doubles (as does Budak) 

 

Difference between First and Second Seat 
On marginal hands, I will probably NOT preempt in 2

nd
 seat because one opponent has passed and I am 

just as likely to preempt partner as to annoy the 2
nd

 opponent. So, a hand I might choose to preempt on 

in 1
st
 seat, I could pass in 2

nd
 seat. 

 

All of the above ONLY applies to situations arising in 1
st
 and 2

nd
 seat. 3

rd
 and 4

th
 seats are totally 

different issues. 


